Drawn and Quarterly Your Shopping Cart
Home About Artists Shop Events Press New Blog 211 Bernard Store Blog
Friday, 8 March 2013

New Literature for the Weekend!!

Oh, it's actually starting to look like the beginnings of spring out there. Great news! Time for the new, people, and here are 5 examples of excellence in recent literature!

Sam Lipsyte's third novel, The Ask, was a huge hit 'round these parts (and pretty much everywhere else) and so, his new collection of short stories, The Fun Parts, has been hotly anticipated, to say the least.
Lipsyte expertly works the line between hilarity and pathos, presenting characters who stay airborne only so long as they’re pedaling their rattletrap fantasy machines.(New York Times).



Yes, sure it's called There Once Lived A Girl Who Seduced Her Sister’s Husband, And He Hanged Himself: Love Stories but let me assure you, there is little in the way of sensational morbity or romance in any of these fantastic stories. Culled from as far back as the 60s (and banned for years in Russia), Ludmilla Petrushevskaya'sfiction details the everyday lives of the regular ol' downtrodden who wade through life in Russia, searching for love or some semblance of it. Short like Lydia Davis, sharp like Chekov...highly recommended!

What more can be said about Anne Carson: beloved poet, essayist, critic and translator of classic languages that hasn't already been said? How about:  The sequel to her 1998 classic 'novel in verse',  The Autobiography of Red, is here!

In the tradition of Franzen and Cheever, A.M Homes newest delves into the "dysfunctional family" genre and gives us a masterful mediation on the break-down of communication in the internet age. For some fun. check out Homes' music playlist that served to inspire parts of the book, here, at LargeHearted Boy.


Looking forward to this,  from what I heard it's a mindbender of the first order. Ron (Everything Matters!) Currie's is being touted as a hilarious book about fiction vs. the truth.

Remember: all HARD-COVER FICTION is 20%  OFF at Librairie D&Q.



Blog Archive

HOME BACK Your Shopping Cart
ABOUT D+Q
ARTISTS
SHOP
EVENTS
PRESS
NEW
Newsletter
SIGN UP FOR UPDATES






This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?


copyright 2010 drawn & quarterly