Drawn and Quarterly Your Shopping Cart
Home About Artists Shop Events Press New Blog 211 Bernard Store Blog
Thursday, 19 September 2013

Ce soir/ Tonight!!House of Anansi double launch with Perrine Leblanc and Louis Hamelin!

You are invited to join us at the bookstore tonight, Thursday, September 19, at 7pm, for a double book launch with House of Anansi, featuring Kolia, by Perrine Leblanc, and October 1970, by Louis Hamelin. Both books have been translated into English from their original French, and are some of the first titles published under the Anansi imprint Arachnide, which was launched in July 2013 and specializes in French-to-English translations.

Set against the backdrop of Stalinism and then the collapse of the USSR, Kolia (translated by David Scott Hamilton) is a luminous and unforgettable story about a boy born in a Siberian Gulag. Kolia’s life begins in a labour camp in eastern Siberia in 1937. Iosif, a fellow prisoner, teaches him the basic knowledge for survival in the harsh environment of the Gulag, along with calculus, Russian, and French, before disappearing. After Stalin’s death, Kolia is released and thrown into Soviet society. He joins a circus in Moscow, where he finds the comfort of a family, despite still being haunted by memories of Iosif and the Gulag.

Perrine Leblanc was born in Montreal in 1980. Her first novel, published under the title L’homme blanc in Quebec and Kolia in France, won the Governor General’s Literary Award for French Fiction. She lives in Montreal.

In the tradition of Don DeLillo’s Libra, October 1970 (translated by Wayne Grady) is a thrilling fictional account of the events that shaped one of the most volatile moments in recent history.Thirty years after the October Crisis, Sam Nihilo, a freelance writer whose career is in a slump, is drawn to the conspiracy theories that have proliferated in the wake of the events. While investigating the death of one of the FLQ hostages, Nihilo sees his life consumed by an inquiry that leads him further into a flurry of facts, both known and newly discovered. Soon, secret agents, corrupt police officers, politicians, and former terrorists of the Front de Libération du Québec form a mysterious constellation around him. At the centre of this network lies a complicated and dangerous truth.
Louis Hamelin is a novelist and academic. His novel La Rage won the Governor General’s Literary Award for French Fiction in 1989. He is a literary critic for Le Devoir and Ici Montréal. He lives in Sherbrooke, Quebec.

We are very excited about this event, fond as we are of both local writers and literature made accessible in multiple languages! We hope to see you here!

Blog Archive

HOME BACK Your Shopping Cart
ABOUT D+Q
ARTISTS
SHOP
EVENTS
PRESS
NEW
Newsletter
SIGN UP FOR UPDATES






This page is powered by Blogger. Isn't yours?


copyright 2010 drawn & quarterly